If you’re moving abroad to a country in the EUFallback Text or EEAFallback Textor just want to move your banking there, we can help by:

  1. Giving you a list of all the regular payments in, and out of your account – such as your salary, direct debits and standing orders.
  2. Sending any money left in your account to your new bank account with an EU/EEA bank.
  3. Closing your Nationwide current account.

You can do all these things online, in our Internet Bank. Or you can come into branch and we’ll do them for you.

What is the EU?

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK. 

What is the EEA?

The European Economic Area (EEA) includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, French Guiana, Gibraltar, Guadeloupe, Madeira, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint-Martin, The Azores and The Canary Islands.

Members in the Netherlands or Italy

If you're a savings or current account member, or hold a credit card with us, and reside in the Netherlands or Italy, it's important you understand about the upcoming account closures and suspensions due to Brexit.

Find out more about account closures and suspensions