Nationwide FlexBasic current account

If you live outside of the UK, but in a country that’s part of the European Union (EU) or European Economic Area (EEA)Fallback Text, you can apply for a FlexBasic account.

What is the EU/EAA?

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

The European Economic Area (EEA) includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, French Guiana, Gibraltar, Guadeloupe, Madeira, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint-Martin, The Azores and The Canary Islands.

Here's what you get with a FlexBasic account

No monthly account fee

With FlexBasic, we don't charge you a monthly fee.

Use your account both in and outside the UK

Make purchases and withdraw cash from ATMs both in and outside the UK with your debit card (non-sterling transaction fees apply). 

Secure online banking

Access your accounts through our secure Internet Banking service.

A free Banking app

Our free Banking app lets you monitor, manage and access your money on the move.

Contactless payments

Use your Nationwide debit card to make payments in seconds.

Mobile payments

You can make payments with your Nationwide debit cards using Apple Pay, Google Pay™ or Samsung Pay anywhere that contactless payments are accepted.†

What you won't get with FlexBasic

What you won't get with a FlexBasic account:

  • A cheque book
  • An overdraft

† Available on selected Apple devices only and compatible Android devices using Android 4.4 and higher.
Apple Pay is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Google Pay is a trademark of Google LLC. Android, Google Pay, and the Google Logo are trademarks of Google LLC.
Samsung and Samsung Pay are trade marks or registered trade marks of Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. Use only in accordance with the law. Samsung Pay is available on select Samsung devices.
App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc.

UK flag

Do you live in the UK?

If you live in the UK, you will need to follow a different application process. Start by choosing from our full range of current accounts.

Find out more