Call us

Download or request a leaflet

Branch finder

Send us a message

Make a complaint

Make a complaint

We have very high standards but we are the first to admit that sometimes we can make a mistake. If you are unhappy with our products or services, we want to understand and record your complaint, but more importantly put things right.

Let us know about your concerns...

Write to us:

Close up of hand posting envelope into red post box

Please send your complaint to:
The Complaints Team
Nationwide Building Society
NW 2020
Swindon
SN38 1NW

Call us:

Lady on mobile phone

Call us on 0800 30 20 15 or 03457 30 20 15 from your mobile.

When you call us, please tell us what product you’re calling about so we can transfer you to the right department. You can do this by selecting the relevant number on your keypad. 

If you're calling:

  • From abroad? Call us on +44 1793 65 67 89
  • Using a Textphone call us on 0800 37 80 01
  • About one of our family companies like The Mortgage Works or the Cheshire, Derbyshire, Dunfermline Building Society, you will need to contact them directly.

Timescales

Our aim is to resolve the majority of our complaints within 48 hours, but sometimes more complex issues can take longer. We promise that if we are unable to resolve your concerns within 5 business days (Monday-Friday excluding Bank Holidays) we will tell you and keep you regularly informed of our progress.

Successful resolution of complaints is important to us, so we will always strive to deliver a fair decision. While regulations allow us 56 days to issue our Final Response we will always aim to do this as soon as possible.

Working Together

If you are unhappy after receiving our Final Response and you have additional information that may change our decision please contact the person who responded to you. Alternatively, you can take your complaint directly to the Financial Ombudsman Service.

If you want to contact our Chief Executive regarding your complaint please use this form: Chief Executive complaints form

An independent view

The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) is an organisation set up by Parliament to independently review complaints where the individual and the financial business have been unable to reach agreement.

You can refer your complaint to FOS at anytime, but they will only review this if you have given us the chance to put things right for you or if we have exceeded the 56-day timescales they allow to resolve customer complaints. Should you decide to refer your concern to the FOS you must do so no later than 6 months from the date on our Final Response letter.

Contacting the Financial Ombudsman

The address is:

Financial Ombudsman Service
South Quay Plaza
183 Marsh Wall
London
E14 9SR

Tel: 0800 0234 567 or 0300 1239 123

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and as with any type of complaint, if you feel you have been mis-sold any Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) you have taken out with us, we want to hear about it.

How do I find out if I have a Nationwide PPI policy?

Do you have a PPI policy with us?

If you are unsure if you have a PPI policy with us, please complete the PPI enquiry form and we can check our records and let you know.

Do you have a PPI policy with us?

If you already have a PPI policy with us and want to make a complaint, there are two ways you can send us your complaint, you can:


The postal address is:
NW 199
Nationwide Building Society
Kings Park Road
Moulton Park
Northampton
NN3 6NW 

What is Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) - This link is used to show and hide related content.

PPI is an insurance policy designed to protect your loan, mortgage or credit card repayments in the event you are unable to work due to an accident, sickness or unemployment. A successful claim on the policy means your insurer will make a monthly payment to you (or your lender) until you are back on your feet or up to a maximum period agreed at the start of the insurance policy, usually 12 or 24 months.

Taking out a PPI policy can offer peace of mind to customers. Many people have claimed under such insurance policies and have been able to maintain lifestyles that might otherwise have been jeopardised because of unemployment, accident or sickness. Many customers choose not to have PPI so it is possible to have a mortgage, loan or credit card without this attached.

Tell me about PPI at Nationwide? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

At Nationwide, you were (and still are where you have a policy in force) able to protect your monthly payments on a mortgage, personal loan or credit card with this type of insurance. For mortgages and credit cards, premiums are paid each month alongside the mortgage or credit card payment. For personal loans, the cost of PPI would have been added to the loan up front and spread over the term of the loan. Here’s how PPI works on each of Nationwide’s products.


About our cover
Mortgage Cover Personal Loan Cover Credit Card Cover
The policy has a ‘monthly benefit'. This means if your premium bought £500 of cover for your mortgage, then this is the amount the insurer would pay each month in the event of a successful claim, regardless of any sick pay or redundancy pay you may receive from your employer or other insurance policies. With a Personal Loan, a successful accident or sickness claim on your PPI cover would mean loan payments being made on your behalf, right up to the end of the loan if necessary. For unemployment, payments would be made for up to 12 months.  On a Credit Card, the PPI cover would mean that the insurer would pay 10% of the outstanding balance on the card for up to one year. Continued use of the credit card would be restricted in the event of a successful claim.

What are the names of Nationwide's PPI policies? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

The names of our policies
For Mortgages For Personal Loans For Credit Cards
PaymentGuard Loan care Payment Protection
Mortgage Payment Cover Payment Protection Insurance (for secured loans)  
 Mortgage Payment Protection    
 Mortgage Payment Protection Insurance    

Nationwide has, over the years, merged with other Building Societies that are listed below. These Societies also offered PPI under the following names:

Societies merged with Nationwide who have offered PPI
Portman Mortgage Care
Mortgage Payment Protection
Extra Care
Total Care
Staffordshire Mortgage Payment Protection Plan
Payment Protection Plan
Lambeth LBS Mortgage Cover
Mortgage Cover
Dunfermline Protected Payments Scheme
Mortgage Payment Protection Cover
Mortgage Payment & Lifestyle Insurance
Derbyshire Paymentscover
Mortgage Payment Protection Insurance
Cheshire Mortgage Care

When was PPI sold by Nationwide? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

When PPI was sold by Nationwide
Mortgages Personal Loans Credit Cards
Mortgage Payment Protection was available from July 1987. Mortgage Payment Cover was available from November 1990. Mortgage Payment Protection Insurance was available from November 1995. LoanCare was available until 16 August 2007 and from 24 September 2008 until 12 March 2009. Credit Card PPI was available from 1998 until August 2007.

Nationwide no longer sells PPI.

How do I know if I have PPI? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

If you have PPI, details of the cover will be shown on your product documentation. Please see below:

How to find out if you have PPI
Mortgages Personal Loans Credit Cards
If you have Mortgage PPI you will receive an insurance renewal each year giving details of your cover.

If your Mortgage PPI is attached to your mortgage, premiums will also show on your annual mortgage statement as separate PPI premiums.
If you have PPI covering a Nationwide Personal Loan your Loan Agreement will show details of the cover.
If you have PPI cover on your Nationwide Credit Card your monthly statement will show this as a separate item. 

If you cannot find any of these documents, or are unsure whether you have PPI on any Nationwide mortgage, loan or credit card, please contact us using one of the following methods. We may not be able to tell you straight away if you have or had PPI but we will take your details and let you know as soon as we can:

  • Use the online PPI Enquiry Form
  • Write to us at:
    NW 199
    Nationwide Building Society
    Kings Park Road
    Moulton Park
    Northampton
    NN3 6NW
  • Call us on 0800 30 20 11

You can still make a PPI complaint even if you cannot find any documentation to show you have PPI by following the instructions in the question below How can I raise a PPI complaint. 

How do I know if I ever had PPI on any previous Nationwide products? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

You can still make a PPI complaint even if you cannot find any documentation. If your account is now closed you can check your original documentation. Alternatively, please contact us using one of the methods above. Again, we may need a few days to confirm if you had PPI or not but will do this as quickly as we can. 

How far back can I complain about PPI? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

You can contact us about your PPI policy whenever it was arranged.

If you have any relevant information or documentation which may help us identify your policy please can you provide this to us as this could speed up the processing of your complaint.

Will my experience be any different if I contact you direct or use a Claims Management Company? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

At Nationwide we have a very experienced complaints team who are very focused on delivering fair outcomes for all our customers. In fact, our complaints results compare favourably with other financial organisations. Therefore, we will not treat you or your issues any less seriously or offer you a different experience if you contact us direct. We promise to investigate your concerns fully and deliver an outcome that is fair, taking into account your personal circumstances.

If your complaint is successful, the amount of redress will be the same whether you make the complaint yourself or use a Claims Management Company (CMC). The main difference you will find if you use a CMC is that you will either need to pay them an upfront fee or agree to give them a percentage of any compensation you receive should your complaint succeed if you choose to use their services. The CMC will charge you a percentage of any compensation that we pay and reduce the amount you would otherwise keep. By approaching us directly you get to keep the full 100% of any redress paid.

The time it takes us to deal with your complaint and the complaint success rates with Nationwide are the same, whether they are made through a CMC or not. The work a CMC does on your behalf is to complete the Payment Protection Insurance. Questionnaire (PPIQ). However, this is easy to complete and can even be done online.  The date it is completed and sent to us will count as Day One of your complaint.

How can I raise a PPI complaint? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

Our new online Payment Protection Insurance Questionnaire is the best place to raise your complaint, as we receive it the same day you complete it and can begin our investigation straightaway.

While you can also make a complaint:

  • In person at any Nationwide Branch
  • By calling us from a landline on 0800 30 20 15 or from a mobile on 03457 30 20 15. Alternatively, you can call +44 1793 65 67 89
  • In writing to:
    NW 199
    Nationwide Building Society
    Moulton Park
    Northampton
    NN3 6NW

In order that we have all the information we need to investigate your complaint, you will also need to complete a PPI Questionnaire. If you use these other methods, rather than our website, we will send you a PPI Questionnaire to complete and return.

Why do I have to complete a PPIQ - This link is used to show and hide related content.

Your PPIQ gives us more detailed information about your circumstances at the time the policy was arranged. The Society takes seriously your recollections at the time the policy was arranged and it is important for us to understand what they are.

What happens when I make a PPI complaint? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

Once we receive details of your complaint, we will log this onto our complaints system. This means should you need to contact us we will have the full details of your concerns readily available. We will then send you a formal acknowledgement giving clear contact information. You will usually receive this within 10 days.

Next we will begin our investigation process. This doesn’t mean you will be forgotten. If we are not in a position to give you our final response within 28 days, we will write to you to update you on our progress and let you know when we expect to be in a position to issue our ‘Final Response’ letter.

We want to resolve your concerns for you as quickly as possible, but sometimes this can take longer than expected. Our aim is always to give you our answer within the Financial Conduct Authority’s 56 day timescale. If, for any reason, this isn’t possible we will contact you to let you know why and tell you when you can expect to receive our answer.

What is a 'Final Response' letter? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

This is the letter that marks the end of our complaints process. We do not issue this until we have carried out a full investigation into your concerns. If you remain unhappy on receipt of this you can refer your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service for an independent review. We enclose a leaflet describing their service and how to use it with every 'Final Response' letter.

Note: If you raised your complaint through the Ombudsman, rather than direct to Nationwide, they will tell you to wait for our 'Final Response' letter before they can review your case.

How is PPI compensation calculated? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

We calculate all redress (commonly known as ‘compensation’) in accordance with Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) guidelines. The redress puts you back in the financial position you would have been in had you not taken out the PPI policy.

We will refund the premiums you paid on your policy plus interest on those premiums, from the time each payment was made, to date.

Claims on your PPI policy

We will take into account any successful claims you have made against your policy/policies. This amount will be deducted from the total refund

Tax Liability

Prior to the tax regulation change (01 October 2013) Nationwide did not deduct tax from the compensation interest it paid, however, to comply with HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) regulations we now deduct basic rate income tax from the 8% compensation interest awarded on any redress, this will be paid to HMRC on your behalf.

We recognise not all our customers are liable to pay income tax, while others may be higher/additional rate tax payers. Should this be the case for you, please contact your local tax office to arrange a refund of the amount paid, or to make the extra payment to clear your tax liability. When doing this, remember income tax is only charged on the 8% compensation interest element, and not on the full redress amount.

You will be provided with a payment confirmation letter which will constitute a tax certificate for your settlement and must be retained for your records as it may be required by HMRC at a later date or to support your Self-Assessment tax return.

If I was offered free PPI with my mortgage for 12 months, can I still complain? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

In cases where we determine the policy was mis-sold, we look to put you back in the position you would have been in had you never taken the policy. For those customers who took advantage of the free cover and then cancelled the policy before paying any premiums, there would be no financial loss to address, and whilst you can raise a complaint it is unlikely to result in any payment.

If I made a successful claim on my policy, am I prevented from making a complaint? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

You can still complain. However, if you have made a successful claim on your PPI policy you may have received more from the policy than the cost of the premiums. In these circumstances there may be no financial loss and therefore no refund of premiums.

Can I get help from other sources? - This link is used to show and hide related content.

Yes, there are a number of other sources that provide free help and support. They are:

Excellent customer service is what you expect and what we aim to provide. We have very high standards but we are the first to admit sometimes we make a mistake. If this happens please tell us straight away and give us the chance to put things right. Complaints provide important feedback and we undertake root cause analysis on this to identify potential issues in order to improve our service to you, as well as to enhance our products and processes in order to make life easier for you, our valued customers and members, in your dealings with the Society.

Nationwide is committed to being transparent and therefore provide below details of the volume of complaints reported to the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in our last reporting period. To see how Nationwide and other firms performed previously, please see the FCA’s complaints data table (This link will open in a new window).

Firm name: Nationwide Building Society
Group: Nationwide Building Society
Other firms included in this return (if any): None
Period covered in this return: 5 October 2013 to 4 April 2014
Brands/trading names covered: Nationwide Building Society, Cheshire Building Society, Derbyshire Building Society, Dunfermline Building Society

Complaints data
  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)
Banking 25810 25417 99.11% 47.25%
Home Finance 4794 5020 98.31% 63.11%
General Insurance and Pure Protection 35726 33077 99.43% 49.82%
Decumulation, Life and Pensions 685 632 96.68% 22.78%
Investments 227 207 97.58% 59.42%

To put the above figures into context:

  • Our 25,810 Banking complaints have come from approximately 25 million accounts, which equates to 1.03 complaints per 1,000 accounts
  • For every 1,000 Home Finance (i.e. mortgage) loans we had outstanding, we received 2.61 complaints
  • We recorded 176.34 general insurance and pure protection complaints per £1m of annual income (excluding PPI complaints we recorded 3.31 complaints per £1m of annual income)
  • Of the 35,726 General Insurance and Pure Protection complaints, 35,055 relate to Payment Protection insurance of which 19,814 are the result of a proactive mailing initiated by the Society
  • 1.28 customers contacted us to complain about decumulation, life and pensions products per 1,000 policyholders
  • For every £1m of investment intermediation annual eligible income, we received 2.88 complaints

Firm name: The Mortgage Works
Group: Nationwide Building Society
Other firms included in this return (if any): None
Period covered in this return: 1 October 2013 to 31 March 2014
Brands/trading names covered: The Mortgage Works



Complaints data for mortgage works
  Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed Complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by firm (%)
Home Finance 623 591 98.82% 60.41%

To put the above figures into context:

  • For every 1,000 Home Finance (i.e. mortgage) loans we had outstanding, we received 3.25 complaints